The Council is a collegiate management body of Klaipeda University. The KU Council follows the Republic of Lithuania Law on Science and Studies, the Klaipeda University Statute, and the Council‘s Regulations. The Council shall: approve of the University‘s vision and mission and the strategic action plan submitted by the Rector; consider and approve the University‘s restructuring plans submitted by the Rector; establish the terms and procedures of organizing the Rector‘s elections through public competition; elect, appoint, and dismiss the Rector; determine the University‘s funds and assets management, use, and disposal procedures and consider and approve the major related decisions; take care of support for the University and perform other tasks. The Council is elected for a term of 5 years and comprises 9 members.

The Chairman of the Council: Arnoldas Šileika, General Manager of The Western Shipyard Group 


  • Aidas Čurovas, The President of Klaipeda University Student Union 
  • prof. dr. Vytautas Juščius, Head of the Department of Economics, Faculty of Social Sciences, Klaipeda University
  • prof. dr. Loreta Kelpšaitė-Rimkienė, Senior Researcher at the Marine Research Institute
  • Vytautas Lygnugaris, General Manager of JSC „Limarko“, Chairman of the Board
  • prof. dr. Arvydas Martinkėnas, Professor at the Faculty of Health Sciences of Klaipeda University
  • assoc. prof. dr. Silva Pocytė, Senior Researcher at the Institute of Baltic Region History and Archaeology
  • Eglė Stonkė, Executive director of the Association of Municipalities of the Klaipėda Region "Klaipėda Region" 
  • Andrius Sutnikas, Coordinator of the Lithuanian maritime cluster, Manager for Development at the Klaipėda Science and Technology Park

Laura Kolozinskienė
Administrative Assistant of the Council
Phone: +370 46 39 89 03