LT   |   EN      Mano KU   |   
Klaipėda University Starts a New Academic Year

Klaipėda University Starts a New AcademicYear

This year, the festivities of the opening of the academic year brought smiles, the sun, and good weather to the students, academic staff, and other members of the KU community and the guests.

On September 2, the academic community took part in the St. Mass in the Church of Christ the King. The Mass was celebrated by H.E. dr. Kęstutis Kėvalas, Bishop of Telšiai.

On September 3, the ceremony of the opening of the academic year took place in the square of the Klaipėda University campus. The community, and particularly the first year students, were welcomed by prof. dr. Artūras Razbadauskas, KU Rector ad interim, Vytautas Grubliauskas, Mayor of the City of Klaipėda and Chairman of the KU Council, Deputy Speaker of the Republic of Lithuania Seimas Irena Šiaulienė, and Member of the Seimas Algimantas Kirkutis

During the event, the graduates of Klaipėda University whose applied research final theses were acknowledged as relevant to the city were awarded prizes: Rokas Labokas (FMTNS) for the final thesis Research on the Efficiency of Electric Power Generation in the Co-generation Plant UAB Fortum Klaipėda (research advisor lect. V. Jakubauskaitė), Egidijus Kaunas (FSSH) for the final thesis Public Sports Areas in the City of Klaipėda: Situation and Prospects) (research advisor dr. E. Spiriajevas), Ieva Masalskytė (FSSH) for the final thesis The Rhetoric of Vytautas Grubliauskas, Mayor of the City of Klaipėda, in 2000 through 2017 (research advisor dr. A. Balčiūnienė), Vigailė Semaškaitė (FMTNS) for the final thesis Energetic Analysis of Regasification Process: Case Study of Cold Energy Utilization at FSRU“ (research advisor dr. T. Paulauskienė), and Samanta Savickaitė (FHS) for the final thesis Integration of Personalised Psychosocial Assistance to Improve the Wellbeing of Oncological Patients (research advisor dr. D. Martišauskienė).

Moreover, a nominal scholarship of the Mykolas and Amalija Jagutis Scholarship Fund was awarded to Laura Valatkevičiūtė, 3rd year undergraduate student of Economics, SSH KU, and the Vydūnas Youth Foundation prof. Steponas Kolupaila scholarship, to laureate of 2018 Ilona Šakurova. Scholarchips of the Free Economic Zone went to Simona Kavaliauskaitė, 4th year undergraduate student of Economics (FSSH) and Ieva Petrokė, 4th year undergraduate student (FSSH).

At 14.00, in the Small Aula of KU, the portrait of the late Rector of KU, prof. dr. habil. Stasys Vaitekūnas, was unveiled (painter: J. Vosylius).

In the evening of the same day, at 19.00, a festive concert for students Students Monday took place in Anikė Square The concert was given by finalists of the Lietuvos balsas: Vilius Popendikis, well known to young people, Paulina Skrabytė and the group The Others, as well as winner of X Faktorius Monika Pundziūtė-Moniqué.